Our Tree

13 Dec

Our Charlie Brown Tree

This is what I did tonight while both kids slept at the same time (!!!) and Aaron was away playing Halo something or another with guys. Yeah, it’s a bit silly to have a tree painted on drop cloth and hung on the wall but it’s totally 2 babies and 2 cats proof. I was inspired by my friend who painted a Christmas tree on the wall because they are in the middle of moving this holiday season.

The photo makes it look a bit awkward but I think that’s because I’m an awkward photographer! It’s really rather cute in person. Well, rustically cute. I kept on repeating “It doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful” like a mantra while putting it together. All things considered, I’m happy with the results. Someday, when the kids are older and the cats are dead, I’ll have an extravagant and gorgeous tree. In the mean time, I’ll embrace what I do have with my whole heart.

8 Responses to “Our Tree”

  1. mrssoup December 14, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

    Yes, exactly. Doesn’t have to be perfect to be perfect!

    • Dallas Ann December 16, 2009 at 11:49 pm #

      It’s so hard for me to remember that, esp. since if I don’t think I’ll do it right to begin with, I won’t do it at all! But I had so. much. fun. painting it that I think it’ll help spur me on next time. :D

  2. Shannon December 15, 2009 at 1:38 am #

    This is great! I don’t have many problems with my cats bothering the tree, just an occasional ornament that gets knocked down when they are frisky.. however, last year when my son was not quite one, he broke about 10 ornaments because they were “balls!” :-)

    • Dallas Ann December 15, 2009 at 11:34 pm #

      hehe! I think my 2 yr old would leave it be well enough but my 2 cats like to perch in the trees and knock ornaments off like a sporting event.

  3. Troy @ I Refuse to Recede December 15, 2009 at 2:35 am #

    For my money, if it makes you happy, and makes you smile, if it makes your kids eyes light up, then it’s perfect.

    Great idea!

    Troy

  4. Angie @ The Shabby Chic Cottage December 16, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    CUTE! I love it! Kid and cat proof for sure!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.