24

7 May

what 24 looks like

So, this is what 24 looks like.

I’m pretty happy with what I see, though I’m in a bit of a brain fog this morning. When I was 16, I would have never dreamed that I would be married, a SAHM, with a toddler and another on the way. I was pretty convinced that I’d be a few years out of college and either pursuing a graduate degree or amazingly successful in a career of my choosing. But you know what? Even though I am further away than ever from getting that graduate degree, I am amazingly successful at my chosen career. Being a mom. Being a wife. Yes, I screw up a lot but I learn from my mistakes and become better at my job. Isn’t that what makes a person a success? Doing their best, learning from their mistakes and striving to be better?

This morning, Aaron gave me the most touching card. I don’t know when he had the opportunity to stop and get one, but I truly think that his gift is giving gifts, cards, whatever. It doesn’t matter how big or small it is, he always knows exactly what to do. We’re not exchanging birthday gifts this year (his is on the 11th) but a heartfelt card and meaningful sentiments mean a lot to me. More so than my desired Kitchen Aid mixer that I lust after year after year. Words and emotions are what make the world go ’round. Kitchen Aid mixers only make cookie dough turn.

Speaking of cookie dough, Ella and I started off our day making chocolate chip cookies. We were licking the spoons by 8:30 and enjoying our first cookie at 8:45. Between the two of us, I think we’ve consumed enough cookies and cookie dough this morning to equal Miles’s (the child I’m pregnant with) current weight. A pretty good way to start off a birthday, if you ask me.  🙂

Leave a Reply

