Ella Update

3 Jul

We’ve been busy busy busy this week and I’ve had little to no time to write any “real” blog posts, so you get my “get out of jail free card” blog post. An Ella update! Feel free to roll your eyes and move on until next week. I’m fairly certain my mom (aka Nana) is the only one excited about these posts, especially since I’m such a slacker and haven’t gotten pictures up on Snapfish.com for her to order since March! Yes, that’s on my to-do list this weekend. I’ve got April almost up and ready.

I feel like we’re rapidly approaching the end of Ella and Mama days at a break neck speed. By this time in September, Miles will be here and we’ll be in the middle of trying to find a new groove. Don’t get me wrong, I’m really really excited about adding to our family but I’m also sad to see the end of what I’ve come to love and cherish so much. Because of this, I’ve been trying to make a point of doing *something* every day like going to the farmer’s market or playing at the park. This pregnancy has found me inside more often than not, so this is kind of a radical change for she and I.

But this isn’t about me. This is about Ella!

Ella cracks me up daily with laughter. She’s learned how to shrug and use it appropriately in conversation. If she can’t find something, she runs up to me with her hands by her head saying, “Uh oh, uh oh!” When I ask if she knows where whatever it is she needs, she shrugs her bony little shoulders, shakes her head, and says “Oh no! Bye byes!”

She’s a lot like her dad and very single minded. Or maybe that’s just a toddler trait. Who knows. Whatever the case, Ella has a hard time letting go of an idea or event once it sticks in her mind. Take Elmo, for example. She loves loves loves Elmo and I’ve even caught her talking about Elmo in her sleep!

Another concept that she won’t stop talking about is babies and breast feeding. Every Tuesday, we go to a nursing mom’s support group even though Ella’s weaned. The older kids are around Ella’s age, so she gets interaction while I get to talk to people over three feet tall! A couple of the moms have had babies in the past year and Ella is simply enamored with the idea that mamas give their babies milk. She spends a good portion of her day nursing her dolls and teddy bears and it’s been quite the challenge to convince her our cats don’t want to be nursed!

Something that has just recently developed has been her desperately wanting to put on her own clothes and refusing all help. Most mornings it doesn’t matter too much but when we have to be somewhere first thing (like midwife appointments at 8:15 am!), it gets really challenging. I can’t wait until she figures out how to put her arms through sleeves.

Every day finds her discovering something new, experiencing the mundane with wonder. Ella has really brought new perspective to my life and it has blessed me beyond words.

SDC15503

IMG_5114

IMG_5219

Leave a Reply

