Simple Joys

13 Jul

Friday morning after my midwife appointment, Ella and I went to the outdoor mall to run around before heading home. Since none of the stores were open yet, I felt comfortable to let her run free without holding my hand.

We were about halfway to the play equipment when suddenly she stopped running, bent down, and began giggling helplessly. From where I was standing, I couldn’t see what she was so excited about. Before I could get over there, she poked something on the ground, shrieked and then began laughing all over again. I finally waddled myself over and saw the object of her fascination: A rolly polly bug.

We spent a good ten minutes playing with the rolly poly. Every time he would uncurl and start to scurry away, Ella would reach down and poke at him again to watch him roll up into a ball. She found endless amusement and it took a lot of convincing to get her to move on towards the benches where I could sit down.

As I watched her play, I thought back over her encounter with the rolly poly bug. If I had been by myself or pushing her in the stroller, I would have blown right past the little bug and we would have missed out on some great interaction. I want to live my life with the observant eyes of a toddler. I want to see the little things that can provide life with the simple joys. Things like that make the world go ’round and I don’t want to miss them.

One Response to “Simple Joys”

  1. Angel July 15, 2009 at 12:41 am #

    Aww, this is such a sweet story. Thank you for sharing this ❤

Leave a Reply

