So painful!!!

26 Oct

Yesterday morning, around 12:30, I half way woke up thinking, “wow, that contraction is uncomfortable”. Next thought was “It’s not going away, what the heck?” When I finally woke up completely, I could hardly move due to the intense pain. It was worse than my gallbladder, worse than childbirth. I finally managed to get out of bed and crawl on my hands and knees to Ella’s bedroom where Aaron was sleeping. He got up and I could only manage to crawl to the hallway, where I stayed on all fours while he got my phone.

The ER said to come in right away but I wasn’t permitted to bring Miles with me because the CDC banned all not sick children under the age of 12. I had planned on having Aaron drop the baby and I off at the ER so I could be seen. There wasn’t enough milk in the freezer to last him more than a couple hours and we all know that an ER trip is a 6 hour time frame at the minimum.

So I called Sherry (my midwife) to ask her if she had any idea what was going on and if she had any suggestions. Based on where my pain was, she said it sounded like a kidney stone. At her suggestion, I got in a very hot shower and drink as much water as I could stand. Sherry did insist that if the pain didn’t lessen up within 20 minutes that I needed to go to the ER. She would come and watch both children while Aaron took me. When I expressed concern about there not being enough milk, she assured me he’d be fine and sleep through most of it. I believed her because she is AMAZING with little ones and my children just love her.

Thankfully after about 20 minutes in a really hot shower and downing over 40 ounces of water, what I think was a kidney stone passed. Give me natural childbirth any day! It was simply the most painful experience EVER.

I’m going to make an appointment with my general practitioner this week in hopes of discussing what happened and what I should do if it happens again. I’m fairly certain it will because this morning I woke up with quite a bit of discomfort in the same kidney as before. UGH.

One Response to “So painful!!!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In Fact, I Am NOT A Man With An Enlarged Prostate Gland! « The Road We Travel - November 6, 2009

    […] NOT A Man With An Enlarged Prostate Gland! I’ve been having kidney stone issues, as I’ve mentioned before. My doctor ordered a CAT scan and discovered five small and one almost too large to pass on my own. […]

Leave a Reply

