On Prayer

15 Dec

Recently, I asked a friend for prayer for a specific thing in my life. Instead of giving me the typical, “Of course I will!” response, she quietly prayed for me right then and there. Nothing flamboyant. Nothing that sent me running to the dictionary. The prayer was very simple. “Lord, please give Dallas Ann peace and the grace to handle this. Amen”.  I felt overwhelming thankfulness for my friend’s willingness to go out of her comfort zone and minister to me in this way.

It has encouraged me to do the same thing. When friends ask me for prayer, I’m going to ask if I can right then and there. Why put it off and risk forgetting? I’ve been guilty of that before. There’s no need to put off what I could do immediately and risk missing the opportunity to bless others how I have been.

2 Responses to “On Prayer”

  1. mrssoup December 16, 2009 at 11:14 am #

    How wonderful!

  2. Heather December 16, 2009 at 6:58 pm #

    I know just what you mean and how precious it is to be prayed for right then and there. I have also taken to praying immediately, like when someone posts for prayer online, I say one right there.

    There is something good about having a prayerful life. I am glad someone could minister to you in such a way.

Leave a Reply

