Moments ~ As Parents

12 Feb

We stopped at a traffic light one night. I was riding in the car as Aaron drove. A mini van stoped next to us and it had one of those dvd players that drop down from the ceiling playing a Blue’s Clues episode. Aaron and I both exclaimed at the same time, “It’s Snack Time Playdate! Together, we burst into hysterical laughter as we reached a new level of parenting: Being able to identify a child’s favorite television episode an entire car away.

♥♥♥♥♥

One morning found Ella and I mixing up breakfast muffins. All the tins were filled and we were waiting for the oven to finish preheating. I stepped out of the kitchen, leaving Ella with a bowl that held about two muffins worth of batter.

A few minutes later, I rounded the corner into the kitchen and found that Ella had pulled out a pie pan and had scooped out all the batter and spread it around the pan. My first instinct was to scold her and express my frustration over her wasting potential food. Instead, I took a breath and a step back and asked what she was doing. Ella explained that she was making “Uffins for Dada’s breakfast”. Boy, was I glad I hadn’t rushed into the situation and unintentionally discouraged her giving spirit.

So together, we finished spreading out the batter and popped the pie tin in with the muffin tin. It came out like a muffin pancake and she was SO proud to give it to her daddy that night when he came home.

♥♥♥♥♥

Once upon a time, I had a lot of ideas of what a good date would involve. Good food, concerts, movies, etc. None of those concepts included partying it up in the housewares department of T.J. Max. But that’s where I found myself with Aaron this week, savoring my time with him completely child free. We fingered sheets, played with pots and pans, tried on hats, and played house. We laughed. We joked. We had fun.

Having fun is something we had been missing in our relationship. Once we rediscovered it together, our parenting skills improved, communication abounds, and situations seem so less dire.

Laughter truly is the best medicine.

2 Responses to “Moments ~ As Parents”

  1. Mrs Soup February 12, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    So glad you are finding time to have fun together! ❤

    And I adore your header….it almost can't be any better than anything I could do!

    • Dallas Ann February 12, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

      aww, thanks!!! I just found some free photoshop brushes and messed around with it. Still can’t wait to see what your imagination comes up with!

      We’re trading babysitting with a friend, which makes it super easy to get out!

Leave a Reply

