A Reminder

22 Feb

Copy Cat

This image hit me between the eyes the other day. It was an unexpected reminder that she watches everything I do and does everything in her power to mimic me. Sometimes she even manages to do things better than I. See how her broom is straight and mine is leaning at an angle?

Lately, it’s such a heavy weight on my mind and heart. I feel like I’ve been rather short tempered and out of sorts. Not empathic or truly listening. Just trying to make it through the day, keeping a lid on everything and praying nothing explodes.

Seeing her little broom so carefully set up by mine helped me realize how I’ve been responding and how I don’t want her to act or respond. I’m praying I can find my way again and soon.

4 Responses to “A Reminder”

  1. Mrs Soup February 23, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    I’m praying for you as well.

  2. Helena February 23, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    I found your blog through DITL and have really enjoyed your parenting posts, though I don’t think I’ve commented before. I have a 16-month-old daughter who loves to mimic her mama as much as possible, and some days I’m forcefully reminded of that. It really does feel like such a huge responsibility to be a good example for her, and I hear where you’re coming from. All we can do is the best we can, right? 🙂

    • Dallas Ann February 23, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

      Hello Helena! Welcome!

      Yes. All we can do is our best. It’s an ever learning process. I think I’ll get more personal growth out of her childhood than she will.

      p.s. I ❤ your name!

Leave a Reply

