Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

6 Apr

I want to be on good terms with our neighbors. We’re not on bad terms, just not on any terms at all. Smiles and waves are exchanged with the nice lady across the street, but that’s it. There are no children on our street. The houses are filled with elderly retired folks or 9-5 work force folks.

It’d be nice to know the folks that live on our block. I’d like to be able to let the lady who lives across the street know we’re going on vacation and would she mind keeping an eye on the house? Or be able to greet the new guys who moved in next door by name.

What do you think is the best way to meet neighbors? I thought about making brownies and taking some over to our neighbors with the kids. Then I thought that might be too weird. I’m not sure I’d eat something made by a person I didn’t know. If there were kids, it’s be easier. Children tend to be icebreakers. But there aren’t any children on our street, so that’s not an option.

Any suggestions? Do you know your neighbors well?

3 Responses to “Won’t You Be My Neighbor?”

  1. Neebs April 6, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    Do you have a garden? Will you have extra stuff? That’s a great way to take things over – not “made” so people might be more likely to accept them.

    • Dallas Ann April 7, 2010 at 8:38 am #

      I wish we did have a garden this year because that would be perfect! I just don’t see me being able to keep up with it with a baby this year who likes to stuff everything into his mouth.

  2. Helena April 7, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Do a lot of people walk around your neighborhood in the evenings, especially with dogs? Katrina is so excited about dogs, anytime I take a walk with her we end up talking to a few dog-walking folks–and it feels less strange to strike up a conversation with “what a lovely dog–can my daughter take a closer look?” than it would to randomly turn up on someone’s doorstep. Unfortunately I still don’t really know the people immediately around us, but it’s a start.

Leave a Reply

