Strawberry Fields

15 Apr

Little Miss Strawberry

I really want to take Ella strawberry picking in the fields this year. I think she would get an absolute BLAST out of the experience, especially since she is so fascinating with growing things. She stood at the window for a solid twenty minutes the other day, watching a church worker planting hostas. My only drawback is our little man. He is too mobile to be trusted to not shove slugs into his mouth and I don’t think my back could survive wearing him bent over picking berries. Maybe he’d be peaceful in a stroller? I think we’d have to embark on this adventure with Aaron accompanying us, for sure.

In the meantime, we are enjoying the flood of strawberries at the grocery store. The Florida freeze that caused the price of orange juice to spike also pushed back the strawberry harvest, so the Florida and California strawberry harvest are hitting the market at the same time. I feel terrible for the farmers but we are enjoying the extremely discounted bounty of juicy goodness!

While eating strawberries straight up is delicious and adding them to our morning oatmeal has become a delightful way to start off the day, I’m wanting to expand our horizons. What are your favorite ways to enjoy strawberries? Extra cookies for you if it’s a dairy free suggestion!

8 Responses to “Strawberry Fields”

  1. carriermom April 15, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    We have recently fell in love with Strawberries in between two layers of cake. YUM! Plus I am sure you know how to make a dairy free cake…hehe.

    • Dallas Ann April 17, 2010 at 7:38 am #

      That does sound yummy! I made something like that for my birthday last year.

  2. Neebs April 15, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    Spinach, strawberries and mandarin oranges are a great salad base, you can always add some chicken or pineapple with a sweet balsamic dressing.

    not sure how kid friendly that is, but maybe she’d pick at it separately??

    • Dallas Ann April 17, 2010 at 7:39 am #

      That sounds SUPER tasty! She doesn’t like the texture of greens but I do think she’d eat everything separately. I think we’ll have that for dinner tonight. I have everything!

      Do you make your own dressing?

  3. Helena April 15, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    I live smack in the middle of FL strawberry country, and right now we’re able to get flats of the super-ripe berries that would never survive shipping, so I hear you on the good prices. (It was a nightmare around here in January, though, with that freak weather…they had to water so much to try to save the crops that sinkholes actually started opening up in local roads.)

    My favorite things to make with berries are freezer jam, strawberry muffins (I just use a blueberry muffin recipe and sub chopped strawberries for the blueberries), and of course strawberry shortcake. If you like spinach salad, strawberries can be a delicious addition to that as well. I also freeze a bunch to enjoy later in the year (freeze individually on cookie sheets, then pop in a plastic bag–that way they’re not all in a big frozen clump).

    • Dallas Ann April 17, 2010 at 7:41 am #

      Ooooo. I never thought of subbing strawberries for blueberries!

      YIKES about the sink holes!!!

      Do you have a favorite freezer jam recipe? Have you ever tried it with the less sugar pectin?

  4. Mrs. Soup April 15, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Mmmmm, strawberries. Love them made up into pancakes and muffins. Over ice cream (I know, not dairy-free…)

    Also enjoy them frozen with Magic Shell put over them.

    • Dallas Ann April 17, 2010 at 7:41 am #

      Never thought of magic shell! yum!

Leave a Reply

