Narnia Nostalgia

1 May

Narnia Nostalgia

Yesterday, the kids and I hit up a HUGE local consignment sale. Not only did I score some great deals for Miles’ summer clothing needs, but I found something spectacular.

Narnia Nostalgia

The entire box set of The Chronicles of Narnia. But not just any box set. It was the twin to the box set I grew up with, minus the wear and tear of a family of avid readers. The old covers from the 70s and the paper yellowed around the corners were exactly how I remembered.

Narnia Nostalgia

The only thing that varied from my memories was that the pages weren’t falling out and all the books still all fit in the box case. Which means that the books were never taken out of the box case, to be enjoyed, read, thumbed through, and dreamed about. I can’t imagine having these books in my house and not reading them! I spent hours reading them and then reenacting favorite scenes during my imaginary games.

I don’t have a favorite book in the series. Each title holds its own and has a special place in my memory. However, The Last Battle was the least read in my childhood because I wanted to live in denial that the land of Narnia ever came to an end.

Narnia Nostalgia

I can’t wait until I can share my love of all things Narnia with my children. I’m looking forward to the day that I croak out, “I’ve read aloud enough. My throat is sore and my mouth is dry.” and the kids quickly offer me a glass of water to keep on through at least the next chapter.

My mom was such a trooper to do that for us.

10 Responses to “Narnia Nostalgia”

  1. watchingthewaters May 1, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    YES! I remember that set!! (Although I don’t think I read more than the first three books. Put an L on my head and label me Loser.)

    • Dallas Ann May 1, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

      hehe Well, the same can be said for me about the Harry Potter series. I didn’t even make it through book three!

  2. Beka May 1, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    oh my goodness! That’s the set I had growing up and all but the first still survives on my bookshelf as we speak. Great memories.

  3. Alicia May 1, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    Oh my gosh. I have this EXACT set in our office from my childhood! I got this the same year I got the Emily of New Moon box set. It was heaven.

    I hope hope hope that Anya will like me to read to her when she is older. I’m starting early so hope it “takes”.

  4. Heather Suursoo May 2, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    Oh joy! I loved that set, that was the same set my parents had when I was a child. I remember my mother reading us “The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe” when I was maybe 7 years old.

    As an adult it is one of my favorites still. I love them all though certain ones get read more than others.

    I admit, I always read “The Last Battle” after someone has passed away, there’s a sort of hope in it I cannot help but need from such a lovely childlike perspective and sometimes I need more than comfort, verses, and time. That’s my extra remedy.

    That said. Dawn Treader, Magician’s Nephew, and Silver Chair are my other most read. The least read is Horse and His Boy.

  5. Jennifer May 2, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    Oooh!! This is the exact set that my parents brought home and I ended up claiming as mine when I was in the third grade. I read them about twice a year while I was in school and since then about once a year. Thats about thirty years of reading.

    It still throws me off that newer sets have a different order to the books.

    • Dallas Ann May 2, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

      Me too. I think they should be read in published order. The story lines make much more sense that way.

  6. Liz May 3, 2010 at 12:31 am #

    That was the same set I have! And, no, they don’t fit in the box any more. Fortunately none of them are missing pages but I was generally good about taking care of my books. Someday Shoshana and I will read them through. In published order, of course. 😉

  7. Helena May 3, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    I’ve only ever read the first book…somehow I never got around to the rest of them. I didn’t even know it was a series until I was an adult, actually, which kind of surprises me because we were a family of avid readers as well. The rest of the series is on my “to read” list…even if I don’t read them myself beforehand, I’m sure before I know it I’ll be reading them to Katrina. 🙂

  8. Mrs Soup May 4, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    Oh man, that is beautiful! I love finding an old book that you’ve read but in a better condition. Even the smell and the typography used brings back such reminders!

Leave a Reply

