Success!!!

25 May

Success!!! I am so excited!!!

I attempted to make a skirt, but I wasn’t too impressed with the results. I used this really cute tutorial over at Ruffles And Stuff and it looks great on her, but I just don’t have the same body shape and I felt the skirt looked really boxy on me.

But then I rediscovered Angry Chicken’s tutorial on how to draft your own a-line skirt pattern! I followed her directions exactly and… it came out beautiful. I think my fold over elastic is too heavy, so I’m going to order some  from the store she suggests for my next projects. Either that or my tension is messed up on my sewing machine. Probably a bit of both. I decided that it really doesn’t matter, though, since you can’t see the messy stitches as they’re on the inside of the waist band.

It doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful.

Tuesday Project

Tuesday Project

Tuesday Project

I absolutely love this fabric! It’s from a vintage sheet set I found at a second hand shop and it is so soft and delicate feeling. The bias trim hem gives the material some weight and prevents it from blowing up at every stray breeze. It also offers a great definition and finish to the overall skirt.

I’m wanting to make myself a structured peasant blouse to go with it. Do you think it should match the pink or yellow in the skirt? Pink because I know it will look good on me or yellow because I should dare to walk on the edge?

11 Responses to “Success!!!”

  1. watchingthewaters May 25, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    That is SO.STINKIN’.CUTE!

    And girl! You’ve got LEGS! You should be wearing a skirt every day!

    • Dallas Ann May 25, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

      I will be this summer! I have other sheets I’m going to whip up into skirts and I’ll be set! I’m so excited I can’t stop using exclamation points!

  2. carriermom May 25, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    WOOOO Sexy! Look at that, it is awesome! I say go with the pink, it would look really good.

    • Dallas Ann May 25, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

      I think I’ll go with pink and if I’m successful, yellow. Someone commented on Facebook that yellow might be hard to coordinate without looking all bland with the cream base of the skirt.

  3. Mrs. Soup May 25, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    RAWR! Gorgeous!!

    And you should do BOTH a pink and a yellow one! Both would be great!

    • Dallas Ann May 25, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

      I think I’ll start with pink and if it works out, I’ll try my hand at yellow. Can’t wait but must first a pattern!

  4. Ellen May 25, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    I agree, make both a pink and a yellow one. I’ve never worked with bias trim as a hem before. What a great idea. Your skirt looks great. What a terrific idea to make it from a vintage sheet. Do you have enough fabric left to make a matching skirt for Ella?

    • Dallas Ann May 25, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

      Working with bias trim was so simple and I really like the look instead of just a plain hem. The material frays really easily (I think from age?), so I feel confident it’s not going to unravel on me now.

      I have a pillow case, so I think I’ll make her a cute little peasant tunic dress for her!

  5. Tasha May 25, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    LOVE the bias tape on the skirt hem! You do have nice legs. This coming from a fair-skinned girl who has always been self conscious of her legs.
    Great idea to make a matching skirt…or even a pillow case dress, perhaps?

    • Dallas Ann May 25, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

      Aw, thanks! I have been self conscious of mine as well but I decided that I couldn’t live another summer in jeans and that skirts flatter me more than shorts. 🙂

      I think I’m going to make a little tunic peasant dress for Ella out of a pillow case as soon as I finish my skirts. If I don’t finish mine first, I never will because making children’s clothing is so much quicker and I’ll get all caught up in “just one more project”. lol

  6. Helena May 26, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    Love it! So pretty! I just inherited a sewing machine from a family friend, so my MIL is going to teach me to sew, and I think I’ll be keeping those instructions for future reference. 🙂

Leave a Reply

