Small Steps Forward

28 May

Last night, after supper, Ella and I were snuggling. Suddenly she sighed and and said, “Mama, I feel tired”.

You could have knocked me over with a feather at that point. Never, EVER has she expressed feeling tired. I can count on one hand the number of times she has yawned once she left babyhood.

I asked her what sleepy felt like and I was told that her “eyeballs here super heavy”.

Aaron and I hustled it up and whisked her off to bed ASAP. And would you believe it? Within twenty minutes she was out COLD.

Honestly, I think she has been exhausted her entire short life and didn’t know what sleepy or tired felt like since she always felt like that. So now that she is waking up a bit less at night (we’re down to about ten wakings!) and getting a solid chunk of sleep in the beginning of the night, she’s more rested. More rest means she’s able experience the transition from being rested to being tired.

This gives me so much hope!

3 Responses to “Small Steps Forward”

  1. Beka May 28, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    oh my gosh I celebrate with you! Praise the Lord and thank you for the beginning of answered prayer!

  2. Mrs Soup May 28, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    What an AWESOME blessing!!! SO EXCITING!

  3. Heather Suursoo May 28, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    Everyday a step in the right direction 🙂

Leave a Reply

