Raw

8 Aug

Raw. Formally alive but not cooked. A strange state of flux. Images of slippery, potentially slimy products sliding down my throat always kept me away.

Until tonight.

With apprehension, I sat down. Closing my eyes, I checked off God-only-knew what and waited for my plate to arrive.

A crisp white plate slid in front of me and I eyed my food with skepticism. I took a deep breath and took a bite. I chewed slowly, tasting in the intricate flavors melding in my mouth. There was no slipperiness, no slime, no sliding. My mind was blown, a bit. How could I have let my prejudiced and misconceptions about sushi keep me away?

via The Sunday Creative prompt “raw”

11 Responses to “Raw”

  1. Sharon Heritch August 8, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    I first tried it in New York when I went to visit a girlfriend. Wow. Yum.

    Where did you go for your trial run at it? 🙂

  2. Laura August 8, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    Hi Dallas Ann, I too love sushi!
    In answer to your question about garlic drying out. When/if you are able to grow it yourself you leave the stalks on. After you’ve picked it you leave it for a week (ish!) to dry out. Then you can braid the stalks together – just like hair! If you cut the stalks off – you have no choice when you buy is, so far as I know, all the moisture escapes. Keeping the stalks on and braiding them keeps the moisture in. We can usually get away with keeping it for about a year.
    Does this make sense?! 🙂
    Have a look here
    http://ourweefarm.blogspot.com/2010/01/its-been-very-busy-day-today.html
    to see pics of it – scroll down past the falling rocks!
    Laura xx

    • Dallas Ann August 8, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

      That’s brilliant Laura! So you can just twist off a head as you need it?

      I think I saw some garlic bulbs with the stalks on at the market this weekend. Maybe I’ll be able to pick some up this next Saturday to store away for winter. 🙂

  3. Brenda Antonacci August 8, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    We went to Hy-Vee today for lunch…no kidding! They have a sushi chef that makes the sushi right there in front of you. Hannah had it and said it was really good and about 1/2 of what she pays at Happy Fish in Campustown. Although, at Happy Fish you get unlimited miso soup, so there is a trade-off! LOL!
    The Kroger on N. Knoxville also has a sushi chef and has a nice assortment of carry-out platters available.

    • Dallas Ann August 8, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

      I love what we call “sushi Kroger” but have always gotten the California Rolls or Veggie Rolls. And you have given me yet another reason to love Hy-Vee!

      I’ve never heard of Happy Fish. Is it comparable (price/quality) to Sushigawa?

  4. Betsy August 9, 2010 at 6:26 am #

    Wow…so creative and a great way to answer the prompt…I think there are so many photography entries that its really great to see a different sort of creativity come out! I’m still a little scared to try sushi myself, but maybe someday soon!

  5. Helena August 9, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    Mmm, sushi–one of my favorites. I was afraid of it for a long time too, even more so because I’ve never really liked seafood at all. When I was teaching English to speakers of other languages in college, one of my classes had a potluck dinner, and one of my favorite students had brought sushi he had prepared himself. I tried to get out of trying it, explaining that I didn’t eat fish, but he had prepared it specially and I could tell he’d be really hurt if I didn’t at least taste it–so I held my breath and did. Delicious! I’ve been a fan of sushi ever since. 🙂

  6. Julie August 9, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Love Sushi… Love your way with words! Wonderful!

  7. Mrs. Soup August 10, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    Congratulations!! It’s not so bad, is it?! 😀

  8. Michelle August 10, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    This post just made me hungry. I think once you’ve eaten Occtapus and filt the suckers sticking to your toungue, you can eat almost anything.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. It was nice of you. At day 10, my self portraits are getting harder and harder, but I guess that was the plan.

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

