Another Refashioned Shirt

24 Aug

Refashioned shirt

I refashioned another piece of clothing today! Not as successful as the blue dress, I think, but I’ll wear this new creation more than the awkward fitting original. That equals good enough for me since the whole point is utilizing my wardrobe more.

Refashioned shirt

This is the original shirt. Not sure WHAT I was thinking (or thinking at all???) when I got it. I’m sure it looks cute on someone but that someone was not me. Not my style at all or flattering in the slightest.

Refashioned shirt

First, I cut out the neckline, sleeves and shortened the overall length. I then took the trimmed length and pinned in as a small collar, pleating as I went.

Refashioned shirt

I also simply turned the sleeves the opposite direction after removing the dark blue band and reset to create a flutter sleeve. The arm/bust was gaping, so I added bust darts as well.

Refashioned shirt

To finish it off, I added a narrow bias tape to cover the raw seam edge along the collar.

In the end, it isn’t really what I was envisioning. The neckline is a bit awkward, but I hope some careful pressing with an iron tomorrow will fix it.

2 Responses to “Another Refashioned Shirt”

  1. Cindy Wentworth August 25, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    Clever! I like it!

  2. joan August 28, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    I like it. Very clever!

Leave a Reply

