Meal Plan Insanity

30 Aug

It was like the children’s book “If You Give A Mouse A Cookie”…

At first, my plan was to list out all the meals we eat regularly so that it would lessen my hate of meal planning. Then I decided to link up to recipes I had online. Before I knew it, it seemed like a fabulous idea to type up all the recipes in the cookbooks so that I could quit splattering them while I cooked.

But why stop there?

I’m now going to turn the master list of meals into as many weeks worth of meal plans as I can. After that, I’ll write up grocery lists for for those weeks on an editable spreadsheet so that I can add or subtract items with ease.

Oh, it’s color coded as well.

Yes, I’m crazy but I really hope that at the end of all this, I’ll have a much easier time of meal planning. I can recycle all the meal plans until the weather turns hot again when soup and baked oven dishes aren’t welcome.

How about you? Do you meal plan?

2 Responses to “Meal Plan Insanity”

  1. Jen D August 30, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    I meal plan, but that’s meal planning on steroids! You go girl. If you want to share it, I’m sure there would be lots of grateful ladies….

    but seriously, that’s impressive 🙂

    • redroundorgreen August 30, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

      Ha ha! Do I meal plan? Check out my blog! And spoiler alert: tomorrow’s the first of the month, so I’ll be posting a month’s worth of meals… This is a great post. Go, you, being all organized and stuff!

Leave a Reply

