Life Is Beautiful

1 Oct

Sometimes, the to do list seems never ending. Not only do diapers always need to be changed, bums needing wiped, dishes washed, food prepared, laundry folded, but there are emotional needs to be met as well. Snuggles when tumbles take place, discussions about feelings, talking about what is kind and what isn’t, fears to ease, laughter to indulge in, work rants to listen to, concerns about the future to put to rest.

It never ends.

Sometimes, I get so incredibly caught up in the needs and emotional well being of everyone else in my family that I forget about myself. I forget that it’s okay to let the kids work things out for 10 minutes while I shower, putting on makeup on a day OTHER than a church day is fine, finding new clothes that flatter isn’t a waste of money, or letting the dishes go in favor of finishing a good book.

Last night, I put myself first. Both kids were asleep and Aaron was home. It was all I could do to not run out the door when my date arrive. Amie and I made a mad dash for the mall where I shopped the heck out of Old Navy, coming away with fabulous deals and flattering, pretty clothes. We had laughter, good conversation, and hugs. Not to mention spending the last of my spending money on delicious root beer from Culvers that we got through the drive through at 9pm at night. We led a wild evening, let me tell you!

I was gone for less than 2 hours, but when I got home my entire life perspective had taken a turn. I was energized, laughing, and feeling good. Going to bed, I expected the euphoria of child free time to wane when I woke but instead, I still felt great. Ready and able to be the best mother I could be.

The same things happen that go on every day. Hugs and kisses exchanged with the kids, fights broken up, food made, laundry shifted from the washer to the dryer. But it been all seen through glasses that have had emotional fatigue wiped away by one simple evening out.

I’m refreshed, my outlook good and I have the smile to prove it.

A Fabulous Day

This is part of The Bigger Picture Moment (a day late).

5 Responses to “Life Is Beautiful”

  1. Kathy October 1, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    You should print this post out or make it your homepage so you can remember that it’s okay to be selfish! ❤ love you!

  2. Jen October 1, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    This is so great! Hooray for you for allowing yourself a good time. Love the picture!

  3. Jade @ Tasting Grace October 1, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    Yay for smiles! I’m so glad you got some time to recharge your batteries and you’re feeling good! Good for you!

  4. Lea Culp October 1, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    A Mommy definitely needs some “time away.” So glad you had some time and that you enjoyed it so much. Good for you! Enjoyed stopping by from Company Girls and wishing for you a wonderful week-end!

  5. Star October 1, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    Good for you! It is so hard for moms to take time out for ourselves. I know…I often need it but feel so guilty doing it. Glad you had fun and got some goodies!

    Hope you have an equally wonderful and refreshing weekend!

Leave a Reply

