3rd Birthday Letter

21 Oct
 Ella's Party Dress
Ella, in her self designed birthday dress. of yellow, green, stripes, pockets and number threes

Dear Ella,

Today you turn three! You’re running around, insisting you’re one so that you and brother can match. Then a little grin creeps across your face and you say that you were “just being silly”.

You are fiercely independent yet still rely so heavily on Daddy and I, for which we are both so grateful. Running ahead down the sidewalk on walks, yet stopping to look for us and wait when you come to a corner. Every item on your body must be approved by you but you are content to pick from the choices I offer. The only thing you won’t be swayed from are the names you pick for your babies. The most recent additions to your menagerie are Glinda and Sushi, both teddy bears. What makes me chuckle is how appropriate Sushi’s name is –he’s a panda bear!

The transition you’ve made from toddler to preschooler has been one so gradual, I didn’t notice until yesterday as we were taking pictures of your birthday dress. Only the last vestiges of babyness remain in your face. Your body is long, lanky and knobby. Three quarters of the big couch are taken up when you lay out full length. There is less falling and more twirling.

I hope you keep on twirling. Twirl through your entire life, always seeing the sunny side of things with a smile on your face. Your optimism as a three year old will carry you far through hard grown up times down the road and  I am going to do everything possible to help you maintain this outlook on life.

So much love, my birthday girl.

Mama

5 Responses to “3rd Birthday Letter”

  1. Brenda Antonacci October 21, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    What a wonderful gift to give your children! I’m reading this through tearful eyes. Happy tears, of course! SO beautiful! These notes will be cherished forever!
    ~Brenda

    • Dallas Ann October 21, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      I got the idea from a friend’s mother when I was growing up! They keep their letters in special boxes, so when I’m pregnant I get one that is unique to that child. Ella has a purple polkadot hat box and Miles has a wooden cigar box. 🙂

  2. Helena October 21, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    Happy birthday, Ella. 🙂

    My daughter Katrina turns 2 today, and inspired by your birthday letters to your children, we write her a special card each year to read when she’s older. This year’s will join last year’s in her little box.

    They grow up so fast, don’t they?

    • Dallas Ann October 21, 2010 at 9:12 am #

      2 on the 21st? How fun that our daughters share a birthday!

      I’m so glad you liked the idea! I’m sure it will be something you all will treasure years later. I’m considering printing out a photo from each year’s birthday to add to the letters.

      And yes, it is insane how fast they grow.

  3. Kathy October 21, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    Keep twirling, beautiful! You are so loved!

    And I am so glad I got the idea from you. I cherish these letters so much!

Leave a Reply

