Grace

8 Nov

Some days, the only way I make it through is by grace extended to me. There’s no way around it. Yesterday was a day like that.

It was about 9am when I finally realized it was a “Grace Day”. We had been up since 5am, I had a horrible migraine, the kids were antagonizing each other and we all suddenly melted down at the same time. With the kids and I recovering in sob-like breathes, I told them that we were no longer a yelling family. No one can yell at each other in our family anymore. Even if we are angry, sad, upset, frustrated, MAD, sick, tired, exhausted, etc, we could not yell. Yelling just makes everyone even more angry, sad, upset, frustrated, MAD, sick, tired, exhausted, etc.

So Ella and I decided that if someone yelled, they needed to be reminded we were a no yelling family. If the person yelled again, they needed to rest in a quiet room for a while. We both needed reminders. Seeing that little face turn up to me, having her pat my hand with love, and say, “Oh Mama, we are not a yelling family. Let’s breath together.” was such a gentle reminder to extend grace to people in our lives.

Yesterday was still hard but it was survivable because we all offered each other what patience we had and extended understanding grace when no patience was left.

3 Responses to “Grace”

  1. Mrs. Soup November 8, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    Beautiful. I’m so glad you have that little heart to help you!

  2. Jade @ Tasting Grace November 8, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    I like the “no yelling family” rule. I was reading some of my old favorite spiritual texts and I was reminded that the opposite of anger is compassion. To get past anger, we must have the self-discipline to find compassion.

    Never easy, but I find that mantra helpful. At least to try. Especially when what I really want to do is scream. šŸ™‚

    • Dallas Ann November 8, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

      Indeed.

      Though, I do want to point out that it is sometimes therapeutic to scream or yell. Sometimes, when I’m at my wit’s end, I go in my bedroom to scream in my pillow. That way, I’m not loosing my temper at anyone and can express my pent up frustration about the situation.

Leave a Reply

