Food + Foto Week 1

11 Nov

I’m participating in a Souvenir Foto School course for the next few weeks! The subject matter is food. My goals for the class is to create cohesive looking images that all invoke a whimsical, vintage mood. Keep an eye on this post to check out other submissions for this week!

Donut Diptych

 

I found the baked donuts recipe over at From An Igloo.  The recipe seemed a bit off on the flour amounts or it might have been the moisture in the air at home, but I ended up adding a little over 5 cups of flour to my total batch. The dough just wasn’t manageable without.

The actual donuts were more like a lightly sweet roll with a great texture. Not like a raised donut from your local bakery but perfectly fine for a three year old who hasn’t had enough donuts in her life to discern the differences. Actually, I would happily feed these to her every morning for breakfast, sans the chocolate glaze! Maybe baked in a muffin tin then fill the base with a mix of peanut butter and strawberry jam with a pastry bag. Topping it with a bit of thinned strawberry jam (essentially a glaze) and finished with 4 or 5 sprinkles would guarantee a new residence in her belly.

Yummy Fluffy Baked Donut Recipe

* 4 to 4 1/2 cups flour
* 1 1/4 cup milk
* 1 pkg yeast (or 2 1/2 tsps)
* 2 tbsp vegetable oil
* 2 tbsp butter
* 3/4 cup sugar
* 2 eggs
* sprinkle salt

1. Warm milk (I heat it to where I could stick my finger in it comfortably. This is how I am successful with yeast. I’m sure you can find some sort of rule out there so you don’t kill it but this works for me)
2. Add yeast to the milk and leave it to dissolve.
3. To another bowl add 4 cups flour, sugar and salt and give it a stir.
4. Once your yeast has dissolved, add oil, melted butter and eggs to your milk/yeast mixture
5. Pour your liquid mixture into your flour mixture and stir. Add up to another 1/2 cup flour if your dough is too soft and sticky. (I used a total of 5 cups, plus flour for the rolling surface)
6. Let rise in a greased bowl for an hour
7. Roll dough out to 1/2 inch thick
8. Cut circles out of your dough (I use a wine glass and used my fingers to work out the middle). You can use cookie cutters, really anything. Look through your drawers and cupboards, you don’t need anything fancy. Make sure your middle hole is quite large as it will get smaller when the dough rises again, and then again when it cooks. You want your holes to almost look too large as they will get lots smaller.
9. Let donuts rise for about 90 mins. An hour is fine, but the longer they rise the fluffier and softer they will be.
10. Cook at 375 degrees for 10-12 mins. Watch them and when they are golden brown on top take out! The time will vary depending on the size of your donuts.

Makes 12-14 large donuts or 2 dozen if using a wine glass to cut out.

3 Responses to “Food + Foto Week 1”

  1. Sharon Heritch November 11, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    Gorgeous, Dallas Ann! How do you make the photo look old and faded like this? Is it a matter of shutter speed?

    • Dallas Ann November 12, 2010 at 10:11 am #

      Thanks, Sharon!

      I applied a filter to the picture when I was editing it on the computer. I’m so happy with how it turned out!

  2. Kathy November 12, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    ❤ Love this and you need to move closer so you can bake for me. ^.^

Leave a Reply

