Weaning: It Happened

11 Dec

Around this time last year, I wrote about Ella UNweaning. This past year of tandem nursing (breastfeeding 2 children) has had it’s ups and downs. Ella had worked down to just having milk after breakfast each morning and if I’m being honest here, I was ready to be done. SO ready.

I tried simply redirecting, and distraction to no avail. It finally dawned on me that in all other areas of her life, Ella thrives on clear boundaries with obvious beginnings and endings. Trying to get her to “forget” about nursing every morning was laughable, especially with  her little brother enjoying milk right in front of her.

So I threw her a weaning party.

The day before, we discussed what kind of cake she wanted and how to decorate it. We baked it, licked the batter bowl together, and she directed me with grandiose gestures how to adore her cake.

The next morning, at 6:30, we gathered around the kitchen table and sang “Happy Weaning Day To You” while she and I blew out the candles. Ella thoroughly enjoyed her cake for breakfast while I ate my slice with nostalgia and dashed with a few tears.

Since then, she’s only asked for milk once and that was with a giggling, silly face.

My little girl nursed for 37 months and from one stage to the next at her own pace.

Decorated  Cake
Her chocolate cake with strawberries and blueberries and sprinkles and strawberries in the middle. Just how she likes it.

Candles

Tasty

3 Responses to “Weaning: It Happened”

  1. Sheris December 11, 2010 at 8:09 am #

    Love it! You are such a wonderful mother Dallas Ann! Such self-sacrifice comes with nursing a toddler – 37 months is definitely something to be very proud of!

  2. Beka December 11, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    GO Ella! That’s so interesting, I have found Maddie works better with a clearly communicated boundary rather than a gradual change, too.

  3. Helena December 11, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    Love it. Also, I’m impressed you made it so long nursing. My daughter is a year younger than Ella and still nursing, and while she’s not ready to wean yet I very much am. I just keep telling myself it’ll happen when she’s ready…though I’m keeping the idea of a weaning party in the back of my mind in case we need it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

