Heels and Makeup

21 Apr

Family Date

Initially, I was so disappointed. Our kids and my friend’s kids were both on the tail end of different illnesses and we didn’t want to infect each other with a new round of the sicks. Aaron and I couldn’t go on the date we had been planning for weeks. I was grouching around the house when Aaron suggested we go on a family date. That didn’t appeal to me ONE BIT but since it got me out of cooking dinner, I agreed.

I stood in the bathroom, wearing heels, muttering about putting on makeup for running errands with the family. Ella came in and her little jaw dropped. “Mama,” she exclaimed. “This must be a real date! You’re wearing fancy shoes and putting on makeup!” Her grin threatened to split her face as she ran off to find her own shoes and coat.

That stopped my muttering.

It made Ella feel special to see me take the time and energy into our family adventure. It showed that I thought it was important enough to look my best. It showed I thought she was important.

So I quit muttering. I quit grumping. I put in earrings and we all had a wonderful evening on our family date.

2 Responses to “Heels and Makeup”

  1. Helena April 23, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

    What a sweet story. What did you do for your family date?

    • Dallas Ann April 27, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

      Barnes and Noble! Aaron and I tag teamed the kids. They played with the train table with one parent while the other looked at books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

